Firearms License Information
WEAPONS LICENSE INFORMATION
Weapons Licenses, also known as Firearm Licenses are applied for and issued out of the Long County Probate Court. The process is the same from county to county in Georgia. In order to apply, the steps listed below should help most.
1. MAKE SURE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE
You must be 21 years or older or 18 or older in the military, must have completed basic training and can provide proof that you are currently active duty or honorably discharged.
Be a Georgia Resident.
Be a U.S. citizen or legal resident.
Have no felony convictions or pending criminal proceedings.
Have no drug convictions (Examples: using drugs, possessing drugs , making drugs, or distributing controlled substances.)*
Have no other disqualifying convictions (Examples: Carrying a concealed weapon without a license, domestic violence)*
Have not been in a mental hospital or drug/alcohol treatment center within the last 5 years.*
Have not been committed to a mental hospital against your will.
*In some situation, you may ask for the approval from the county probate judge. You may also consult with an attorney if you have questions about your eligibility. If you don't have an attorney, (CLICK HERE).
2. GATHER WHAT YOU WILL NEED
Location of your local probate court, call 1-800-GEORGIA for assistance, if your not sure.
If your a resident of Long County this location will be:
You will need the following to apply:
Proof of Identity
Proof of Georgia residency
Proof of U.S. citizenship or your INS number
Form of payment, fees vary from county to county: call prior to applying for your license for details on cost and forms of payment accepted.
Self-addressed envelop (if you want your license to be mailed to you, if you wish not to pick it up from the probate court in person.)
3. APPLY FOR YOUR WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE
Bring the required materials to the probate court.
Request a Weapons Carry License application from the clerk.
Fill out and submit the Application.
Pay the license fee.
Provide your fingerprints. (You will be sent to the Police Department or Sheriff's Office (Depending on your probates court's process.) You will be fingerprinted, this must be completed 5 days after your application is submitted) You will not need to return to the Law Enforcement Agency to get your prints, they will be picked up my the Probate Court.
4. NEXT STEPS
There will be a criminal history records check and background check ran on you.
Law Enforcement will check your background check to determine whether you can receive a Weapon Carry License.
Weapons Check License is good for 5 years, 2 months prior to your Weapons Carry License expiring, you should return to your probate court for a renewal.